Skip to main content

Missouri Government: Documents by Type

Your gateway to state government information..

Documents by Type - Missouri

Missouri state publications are integrated with regular library collections under standard (Library of Congress or Dewey Decimal) call numbers. These documents are generally findable through MERLIN.

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri This icon indicates the resource is restricted to students, faculty, and staff at the University of Missouri.

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - L - M - N - O - P - R - S - T - U - V - W

Type of Government Information Dates Sources
Aerial photographs current MSDIS Mapper
historic Aerial Photographs Subject Guide
State Historical Society of MO
Agencies, guide to 1878-current Missouri Official Manual
1889-1972 Official Manual of the State of Missouri
(Missouri Digital Heritage )
1878-current Print copies available in 2 East, Ellis Library
under call number JK5431 .M58
Agencies, listing of websites current Agency Listing on state of Missouri website
Agency reports 1835-1933 Find print copies in libraries by using the
Missouri Historical Documents Browser
Up to 2004 Find print copies by using MERLIN catalog author search. Enter the state agency name in the author field.
2004-present These are generally not available in print copy in Ellis Library. Instead, look for digital copies from the Missouri State Library's online catalog. Then use the links to full text. Links may also be available in the MERLIN catalog.
Appropriations   Find appropriations in Missouri Session Laws
Bills and resolutions 1895-currrent Missouri Bills
Bills, tracking 1999-current House and Senate Joint Bill Tracking
Budget and spending, state Last five years Budget and legislative agenda
2000-2005 Budget and legislative agenda

Missouri C through E

          (return to top)
Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
Calendar, House of Representatives current House Calendar
Calendar, Senate current Senate Calendar
Census data   Census Subject Guide
1790-1940 Decennial Census 
1790-1960

See reference book:
State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States, by Henry J. Dubester (c1969)
MERLIN record

Constitution   Missouri Constitution
County and municipal records historical Missouri Digital Heritage
Court opinions: court of appeals, supreme and appellate court   Find Law
Elected officials 1956-2014 America Votes
Election returns 1992-current Secretary of State
1889-1920 Missouri Blue Book
1921-1970 Missouri Blue Book
1878-current Official Manual of the State of Missouri (Blue Book)
Expenditures current Expenditures

Missouri F through R

Type of Government Information Federal or StateDate RangeSources

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
Finances 2002-current Financial and statistical report
Hearings, General Assembly current House and Senate Hearing Schedule
Journals, Daily

current

House Daily Journals 
Senate Daily Journals 1996-current
Legislation, (in force)  current Missouri Revised Statutes
Local Government Records  various Local Records Inventory Database
Maps  various Maps of Missouri historical
Missouri Maps
Ordinances, municipal   Municode.com
Regulations, (in force)  current Code of State Regulations
Regulations, (proposed)  1999-current Missouri Register

Missouri S through Z

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
State Agency Databases current Missouri State Agency Databases
State government publications 1800s-ca. 1930 Uncatalogued collection in storage, ask in Gov Docs office
1700s?-1950 Center for Research Libraries has more than a half million volumes of deposited and purchased monographic and serial publications of the U. S. state governments from the earliest periods through 1950, including financial reports and research studies. Excluded content includes internal agency newsletters, agricultural station publications, maps, and state court reports. Most of the collection is not cataloged; to identify resources, try to find state publications checklists, or contact CRL Access Services.  CRL also maintains a collection of legislative journals through 1990.
Statistics
1910-1990 Missouri Historical Statistics
1800-1980 Statistics by Decade
Statutes, Revised   Missouri Revised Statutes
Tax Expenditures 2007 Tax Expenditure Report 2009
1990-2004 Tax Expenditure Report
Tax forms 2000-current Missouri Dept of Revenue
Tax summary, historical 1973-2003
Missouri Historical Tax Summary
Vital Records   DHSS
Voting records 1805-2008 House and Senate Journals