Contains documents from 4000 BCE to the present. Of particular interest are the American Constitution, Bilateral Treaties, 1778-1999, a chronology of American history from 1492 to present, Confederate States of America, Congressional Resolutions, the Federalist Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, Presidential Papers and Inaugural Addresses, US Statutes concerning Native Americans and slavery, and diplomacy documents on relations with many foreign countries.
This collection covers the year 800 to present with maps, charters, agreements, speeches, constitutions, presidential messages, battle reports, proclamations, treaties and more documenting the history of the United States.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
The primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Preceded by the Document Catalog (1893-1940), the 1909 Checklist (1789-1909), Ames Index (1881-1893), and Poore (1774-1881). Internet Archive (1895-1970) Print (Monthly Catalog, 1895-2004) MU ELLIS DOCS REFERENCE Z1223 .A18
This series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian. Online(1861-1960); Paper(1861-1868); Paper (1870-1931).
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust preserves and provides access to more than 6 million volumes, over 1 million of which are in the public domain. HathiTrust offers full-text search across all items in the repository (including public domain and in copyright works).
The HTA publishes high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects. There are some government documents in the Articles and Links areas
The internet archive contains archived versions of web sites and a wide range of items, from books to videos and audio. Many government documents have been included in this archive. It is recommended that you select "Text - American Libraries" from the drop down box. Once a search is complete, you can limit the results by choosing "USGovernmentDocuments" as the collection.
The Library of Congress has extensive resources for the study of the United States presidents and first ladies. The selected images include at least one likeness of each of the first forty-two presidents and most of the first ladies, and contain both formal and informal pictures.
This collection contains approximately 400 items or 2,000 digital files relating to inaugurations from George Washington's in 1789 to Barack Obama's inauguration of 2009. This presentation includes diaries and letters of presidents and of those who witnessed inaugurations, handwritten drafts of inaugural addresses, broadsides, inaugural tickets and programs, prints, photographs, and sheet music.
Proquest Congressional indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), an extensive bill tracking service (1989-date), legislative histories (1969-date), floor votes (1989-date), public laws (1989-date), treaties with Indian tribes (1778-1874), treaties with foreign countries (1776-1949). In addition, full-text is available for the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more.
Readex’ Digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set Map collection includes high quality images of about 52,000 maps of all kinds, dating from the 1400s to the 1970s. The collection ranges from global maps to maps of building interiors; from interoceanic canals to city sidewalks. It covers an incredibly diverse range of topics. It includes but goes far beyond the typical political and land use maps, maps of military conflicts, trails, roads and waterways. There are maps on almost every conceivable t
U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes.