Skip to main content

Federal Government Information: Legislative Branch

Guides to federal information by branch of government, plus some frequently-requested resources.

Legislative Branch

Sessions of Congress
Years and Sessions of Congress
 
 
Stautes at Large
A chronological arrangement of the public and private laws of the United States.
Internet 2003-2007 FDsys
Internet 1951-1980 FDsys
Internet 1789-1875 Library of Congress American Memory
Internet 1789-present Proquest Congressional
Internet 1789-2006 Hein Online
Internet 1776-2007 (not complete) LLMC Digital
Internet   1995-present FdSys
Print 1937-present Location varies
Print 1873-1936 UM Depository
Print 1869-1873 UM Depository
Print 1859-1869 UM Depository
Print 1845-1859 UM Depository
Print 1789-1845 UM Depository
 
United States Code
A consolidation and codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Provides subject access, collates the initial laws with subsequent amendments, and excludes repealed or superceded statutory provisions.
Internet 1926-present Hein Online
Internet Current (Annotated) Proquest Congressional
Internet 1994-present (Official) FDsys
Print 1940-present (Official) Location varies
 
Congressional Bills and Resolutions
Legislative proposals before Congress. May include both public bills, which apply to the general population, and private bills, which only apply to a single person or to a select group of people.
Internet 1993-present FDsys
Internet 1989-present Thomas.gov
Internet 1989-present Proquest Congressional
Microform 1979-2000 MU ELLIS DOCS MICROFORM
Microform 1801-29;1861-99 MU ELLIS SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
Microform 1789-1972 Center For Research Libraries (CRL) [Request using this form].
online 1929-2012 Proquest Legislative Insight Has bills that became law.
 
 
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Published daily when Congress is in session. Preceded by: Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Annals of Congress (1789-1824).
Internet 1789-1824 Annals of Congress - Library of Congress
Print 1789-1824 Annals of Congress
Internet 1824-1837 Register of Debates - Library of Congress
Print 1824-1837 Register of Debates
Internet 1833-1873 Congressional Globe - Library of Congress
Print 1833-1873 Congressional Globe
Internet (FDsys) varies Congressional Record (bound) 1999-2001; Congressional Record (Daily) 1994 to present; Congressional Record Index (Daily) 1983 to present
Internet 1985-present Proquest Congressional
Print 1873-present MU ELLIS J11 .R4
 
Thomas: U.S. Congress on the Internet
A full-text database of legislative information from the U.S. Congress. Includes major legislation (by bill number, subject, and title), bills (full text, summaries, and status), public laws, the Congressional Record and the Congressional Record Index, roll call votes, Congressional committee reports, some Congressional committee hearings, historical documents, and information about the legislative process.
 
Proquest Congressional Click logo to access Proquest Congressional
A comprehensive collection of information by and about the United States Congress and the legislative process. It includes indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), a bill tracking service (1989-date), and extensive full-text, including the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). It also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress.
 
CQ Almanac  Click logo to access CQ Almanac
The Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics. Covers 1940-2011.

Voting Records of Members of Congress

Reference Service

Reference service is available
Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Government Documents Department
106B Ellis Library (1st Floor East)
University of Missouri

Marie Concannon (573) 882-0748
concannonm@missouri.edu

Sandy Schiefer (573) 884-8123
schiefers@missouri.edu