Skip to main content

Government Documents: Federal

U. S. Government Document Types - Federal

THE TAX SEASON IS UPON US.  Check our tax information page for details.

Government documents span a wide range of types. From agency information and appropriations to census data, technical reports and Supreme Court decisions, government publications cover many topics. This list is arranged alphabetically by document type. The third column indicates the dates of coverage. The last column includes links to the documents, the MERLIN record or the database which contains them.

For more information on Federal Government documents, please see our guide to Federal Government Information.

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri This icon indicates the resource is restricted to students, faculty, and staff at the University of Missouri.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - L - M - N - O - P - R - S - T - U - V - W

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
     A
Administrative Decisions by Agency varies Administrative Decisions and Other Actions by Federal Agencies
Analysis of government programs 1922-present (incomplete) General Accountabilty Office (GAO) reports
1973-present Over 14,000 print and microfiche GAO reports
in Ellis Library under GA 1.13 call number.
1989-2008 GAO Reports at FDsys
Aerial photographs  1920s-present Where to find Aerial Photographs
Agencies, guide to 1995/96-current U.S. Government Manual
current A-Z Index of Departments and Agencies
Agency reports 1976-current Catalog of Government Publications
1951-2005 Monthly catalog of United States government publications (print)
1789-1909 Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789-1909
Appropriations FY 1995-2008 FDsys
Appropriations,
House Committee on
FY 1998-current FDSys
Appropriations,
Senate Committee on
FY 1998-current FDSys
Appropriations,
earmarked for specific projects
1991-2009 Citizens Against Government Waste maintains a database which may be searched by state, congressperson, etc. for money appropriated for selected local projects. Only projects they define as "pork" are included. Use in conjunction with official government sources for best results.
Appropriations, status of current CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Articles of Confederation   Library of Congress

B

          (return to top)
Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
Banking laws and reports 1780-1912 Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
Bills, congressional 1993-current FDsys
1973-current Congress.gov
1987-current Proquest CongressionalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

1801-1829
1861-1899

MU Ellis Special Collections (microfilm)
1789-1933 Center for Research Libraries (microform - request through interlibrary loan)
1789-1921 The University of Washington has an incomplete set of this time period. This set is microform - request through interlibrary loan. For interlibrary loan purposes the official title is Congressional bills, resolutions, and laws.
1933-1988 The University of Arizona has a complete set of this time period. This set is microform - request through interlibrary loan. For interlibrary loan purposes the official title is Congressional bills, resolutions, and laws.
varies Sources for texts of congressional bills and resolutions
Bill of Rights   Library of Congress
Bills and resolutions 1799-1873 Library of Congress
1789-1933 Center for Research Libraries (microform - request through interlibrary loan)
Bills, summary and status 1973-currrent Thomas
Bills, history of 1983-current FDsys History of Bills
1929-2011 Legislative Insight Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Bills, tracking 1989-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Bills, status 1983-current CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Biography, political All dates Political Graveyard
1774-present Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Budget of the United States Government 1996-current FDsys
1923-current Federal Reserve Archive

C

          (return to top)
Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
Calendar, House of Representatives 1995-current FDsys
Calendar of Business, Senate 1995-current FDsys
Campaign contributions from individuals and PACs 1987-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1997-current OpenSecrets.org (Uses government data as its source.)
1989-current Influence Explorer
1988, 1994 See "Open Secrets" books authored by
Larry Makinson
in 2 East, Ellis Library
Campaign finance data 1989-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Campaign finance reports   Federal Election Commission
Census data   MU Libraries Census Guide
Census data 1790-1960 See reference book:
State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States, by Henry J. Dubester (c1969)
MERLIN record
Circuit Court Decisions 1938-2009 Find Law
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 1938-2009 Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1981-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1996-current FDsys
current (unofficial) FDsys Electronic CFR
Code, U.S. 1994-current FDsys
1925-current Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Coloring Books   Coloring Books From Federal Agencies
Comic  Books   Comic Books from the Federal Government
Committee membership current Govtrack.us
1985 to current Proquest CongressionalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1947 to 1992 Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1947-1992 (print)
Committees, legislation assigned to current Govtrack.us
Committee prints, congressional 1991-current FDsys
1789-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Committee reports, Congressional 1991-current FDSys
1995-current Congress.gov
1970-current

Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

1817-1975 US Congressional Serial Set Digital Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Conference reports current FDsys
Congress, members of 1997-current Congressional Directory
current GovTrack.us
1985-current

Proquest Congressional

1816-1887

Congressional Directory
MU ELLIS READY REF JK1011 .U5

current Contact Information

Congressional Budget Office reports
and cost estimates

 

1970-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1975-current Congressional Budget Office
Congressional publications  varies Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1817-1975 US Congressional Serial Set Digital Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Congressional Record

(What's this? See Video)

1994-current Congressional Record (bound) 1999-2001; Congressional Record (Daily) 1994 to present; Congressional Record Index (Daily) 1983 to present

1789-current

Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1989-current Thomas
1873-current MU LAW LIBRARY FEDERAL X 1.1/A:
Congressional Record, Daily Digest current Thomas
1985-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Congressional Research Service Reports 1916-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  Archive-It
  Law Librarian's Society of Washington D. C.
Congressional Session Dates 1789-current Session Dates
Consolidated Federal Funds Report (CFFR) 1993-current Consolidated Federal Funds Report
Constitution   Constitution of the United States
Consumer Information   Consumer.gov
  Publications.USA.gov
Contracts 2000-current FedBizOpps.gov
Court opinions, Supreme Court   Find Law
2004-current FDSys
Court records (appellate, district and bankruptcy courts)  

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) (fee-based)

  FDSys

D

          (return to top)
Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
Debate, congressional
(Congressional Record)
1994-current Congressional Record (bound) 1999-2002; Congressional Record (Daily) 1994 to present; Congressional Record Index (Daily) 1983 to present
1873-1997 (partial)
1985-current
Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1873-current MU LAW LIBRARY FEDERAL X 1.1/A:
1989-current Thomas
Debates, presidential candidates 1960-current American Presidency Project
Debt, public   Treasury Direct 
Declaration of Independence   National Archives 
Declassified documents   Declassified Documents Guide
Directory, Congress 1995-current FDSys
1989-2013

MU ELLIS JK1011 .U5

current GovTrack.us
1816-1887

Congressional Directory
MU ELLIS JK1011 .U5

Documents, congressional 1985-current FDsys

E

          (return to top)
Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
Earmarks 2008-2010 Legistorm
2005, 2008-2010 OMB
Economic Indicators 1995-current FDsys
Economic Report of the President 1995-current FDsys
1947-current FRASER (Federal Reserve)
Elected officials   USA.gov
Elected officials 1956-2010 America Votes
Election returns, presidential    
1920-2010 House of Representatives
1789-2008 National Archives
1789-2012 NationalAtlas.gov (printable maps)
1956-2010 America Votes
Election returns 1956-2010 American Votes  
Elections, congressional 2010 Federal Election Commission
Executive orders, presidential 1936-current Code of Federal Regulations, Title 3 (print)
1996-current Code of Federal Regulations, Title 3
1826-current American Presidency Project
current Executive Orders
Export Administration Regulations current FDsys

F - G

           (return to top)
Type of Government Information Federal or State Date Range Sources
Federal Register Federal 1994-current FDsys
1980-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1936-current Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Federalist Papers Federal 1787-88 Federalist Papers
Finances Missouri 2002-2010 Financial and statistical report
Financial disclosures, congressional members Federal 1991-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
current Legistorm
Floor votes, congressional Federal current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Project Vote Smart
Foreign aid (loans, grants, etc.) Federal 1946-2010 Greenbook USAID Foreign Assistance
Foreign Relations Federal   Foreign Relations LibGuide
Foreign policy Federal current CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1945-1976 Foreign Relations of the United States
1820-1937 Foreign Relations of the United States
     G     (return to top)
GAO Reports Federal 2004-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1989-2008 FDsys
Gifts to members of congress from foreign countries Federal current Legistorm
Grants Federal current Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
2000-current Grants and Opportunities

H - I - J

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
     H     (return to top)
Hearings, scheduled current Senate.gov
Hearings, Congressional 1824-1979 Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1979-1993 Complete hearings are only available in paper copy and have been moved off-site. If not found in a UM system library, request a copy through MOBIUS.
1993-1997 Hearing testimony only is available in Proquest Congressional. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  Find paper copy by using MERLIN catalog
1985-2008 Selected hearings are available in full text on FDsys. Indexing for this time frame is available in Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri. Complete hearings are only available in paper copy and have been moved off-site. MERLIN records may not be updated to show the new location.If not found in a UM system library, request a copy through MOBIUS.
1960-1980 (incomplete) The University of New Orleans has digitized almost 500 committee hearings and publications. You can browse or seach by title, date, agency, and subject.
House Documents (Y 1.1/7:) 1817-present

House and Senate Documents and Reports are compiled in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

See SERIAL SET, CONGRESSIONAL on this page.

House Reports (Y 1.1/8:)
     I     (return to top)
Images and photos General U. S. Government Photos and Images
Science Science Images
Inaugural Addresses, Presidential 1789-current American Presidency Project
     J     (return to top)
Journals, House of Representatives 1992-1999 House Journal FDsys
2000-2008 House Journal FDsys

L - M

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
     L     (return to top)
Laws, General and Permanent 2006 Current Edition U. S. Code Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1926-current Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1994-current FDsys
current Cornell University Law School
Laws, Public and Private (slip) 1995-current FDsys
  MU ELLIS DOCS AE 2.110:
1988-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Laws, Public and Private (summaries) 1973-1988 Thomas
Law reviews   Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri, click on "Legal" tab once inside the database.
Legislative histories, complete, all public laws 1999-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Legislative histories, complete, major public laws only 1984-1998 Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Legislative histories, abbreviated, all public laws 1969-1983 Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Legislation, (in force) See Code, U.S.    
Legislation, states (by subject)   National Conference of State Legislatures
1960-2008 Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Subject Compilations of State Laws
List of CFR Sections Affected 1986-current FDsys
Loans 2007-current Federal Loans
     M     (return to top)
Maps   Readex Serial Set Maps Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  USGS Maps
  National Atlas.gov
  Maps and Geographic Information LibGuide
Maps, topographic   Geological Sciences Library
Mobile Apps Directory USA.gov
Municipal Officials, directory 1934-2012 Municipal Yearbook
Municipal Officials, salaries 1934-2012 Municipal Yearbook

N - O - P - R

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
     N     (return to top)
News, Congressional   Roll Call
Nominations and appointments, presidential current Nominations and Appointments
Nominations for Supreme Court 1789-current Senate.gov
     O     (return to top)
Opinions of the US Circuit Courts 1880-current LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Click on Legal in the left-hand menu.
1995-current FindLaw
Ordinances, municipal   Municode.com
     P     (return to top)
Party platforms 1840-2012 American Presidency Project
Patents   U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Fulltext
US Patent and Trademark Office
Patent Research Guide
Google Patents
Personal Finance Disclosures varies OpenSecrets.org
  Financial Disclosure Reports (House of Representatives)
Photographs, congressional 1997-current Congressional Pictorial Directory
Plum Book (United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions) 1996-current FDsys
Podcasts, RSS Feeds, Blogs varies Free Government Information (podcasts)
Free Government Information (Blogs)
Policy, statements of administrative 1997-current American Presidency Project
Political party platforms 1840-2012 American Presidency Project
Presidential debates 1960-2012 American Presidency Project
Presidential documents 1993-current FDsys
1965-current Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1965-current MU Ellis
Presidential papers 1790-current American Presidency Project
Presidential press briefings 1979-current American Presidency Project
2009-current Press Briefings
Presidential press conferences 1929-current American Presidency Project
Presidential signing statements 1929-current American Presidency Project
2001-current Presidential Signing Statements
Presidents, information about 1789-current Internet Public Library
Proclamations, Presidential 1789-current American Presidency Project
current Presidential Proclamations
Procurement Data 1981-current Federal Procurement Data System
Public Debt 1791-current Public Debt Reports
Public Papers of the Presidents 1991-current FDsys
Public/Slip laws 1989-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
     R     (return to top)

Record, Congressional

(What's this? See Video)

1994-current Congressional Record (bound) 1999-2001; Congressional Record (Daily) 1994 to present; Congressional Record Index (Daily) 1983 to present

1873-1997 (partial)
1985-current

Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1989-current Thomas
1873-current MU LAW LIBRARY FEDERAL X 1.1/A:
Regulations, (historical) 1996-current Code of Federal Regulations
1981-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Title 3: 1936-current Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1938-2001 MU LAW AE 2.106/3:
Regulations, (in force) current Code of Federal Regulations
current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
2001-current MU Law AE 2.106/3:
Regulations, (proposed)  1994-2010 Unified Agenda
 1994-2012 Federal Register
RSS Feeds   US Government RSS Library

S

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
     S     (return to top)
Salaries of Congressional Staff Members Legistorm
Senate Documents (Y 1.1/3:) 1817-present

House and Senate Documents and Reports are compiled and reprinted in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.   

See SERIAL SET, CONGRESSIONAL on this page.

Senate Executive Reports (Y 1.1/6:)
Senate Reports (Y 1.1/5:)

Serial Set, Congressional
(What is this?)

Note: The American State Papers, 1789-1838 was the predecessor set.

1817-present

MERLIN (Print volumes, almost all stored offsite.) 

Note: Serial Set volumes from #14934-present are on shelving just outside the Docs office on the Ellis Library first floor, East.

1817-1996

Microfiche set available offsite.

1817-1980
RECOMMENDED


Electronic FULL TEXT.
Readex US Congressional Serial Set Digital Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Includes 15th Congress through the 96th Congress, 2nd session.
FULL TEXT for Serial Set volumes 1 - 13384.

Predecessor American State Papers is also available in FULL TEXT.

1980-2003
RECOMMENDED
Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
FULL TEXT.

1985-present (Documents)

1995-present
(Reports)

RECOMMENDED

FDSys. FULL TEXT.

1983-1998
(finding aid only)

You can get the Serial Set volume number using only the House Report, House Document, Senate Report or Senate Document number by checking United States Congressional Serial Set Catalog: Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes in Docs stacks under number GP 3.34.  This source is available for the 98th-105th congresses only (1983-1998.)
1981-present

When print and electronic formats are unavailable and deadlines are tight, microfiche copies can substitute in a pinch.  Check microfiche cabinets located to the north of the Documents stacks.  Use the following system to find materials:

  • Senate Documents - Y 1.1/3: [congress-rept#]
  • Senate Treaty Documents- Y 1.1/4: [congress-rept#]
  • Senate Reports - Y 1.1/5: [congress-rept#]
  • Senate Executive Reports - Y 1.1/6: [congress-rept#]
  • House Documents - Y 1.1/7: [congress-rept#]
  • House Reports - Y 1.1/8: [congress-rept#]

We have fiche for all of these starting with the 97th Congress.

1833-1917 American Memory (Only a fraction of 1% is here - about 150 selections.  Those that do appear are in full text.)
Soil Surveys 1902-1923 Stored offsite - Dewey Decimal call number - 631.08 Un31b
1923-1966 MU ELLIS - Library of Congress call number - S 591 .A22
Any time period Stored offsite - SuDoc call number - A 57.38
Online
Speeches, congressional   See Congressional Record (above)
Speeches, presidential   Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
State government publications  1800s-ca. 1930 Uncatalogued collection in storage, ask in Gov Docs office
1700s?-1950 Center for Research Libraries has more than a half million volumes of deposited and purchased monographic and serial publications of the U. S. state governments from the earliest periods through 1950, including financial reports and research studies. Excluded content includes internal agency newsletters, agricultural station publications, maps, and state court reports. Most of the collection is not cataloged; to identify resources, try to find state publications checklists, or contact CRL Access Services.  CRL also maintains a collection of legislative journals through 1990.
State of the Union Address, Presidential 1790-current American Presidency Project
1992-current GPO Access
Statistics   Fedstats
2013 Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1878-2012 Statistical Abstract of the United States
  Historical Statistics of the US Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Statutes at Large (session laws) 1951-2009 FDsys
1789-1875 Library of Congress
1789-2010 Constitution.Org
1789-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1789-2006 Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Subsidies, with National Priority Ratings (NPRs) 2000-current Subsidy Database
Supreme Court Cases 1792-current Oyez Project
Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 US Supreme Court Records & Briefs Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1999-2007 Find Law
Supreme Court Decisions 1937-1975 FedWorld.gov
2003-2008 Find Law
Supreme Court Opinions 2007-current Supreme Court Slip Opinions
1790-current LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1790-current Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Supreme Court Rules current Find Law
Supreme Court Nomination Hearings 1971-current FDsys

T - U - V - W

Type of Government Information Date Range Sources
     T     (return to top)
Tax forms and regulations 1980-current Internal Revenue Service
Tax returns for non-profits   GuideStar
Technical reports   Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)
Defense Technical Information Center
Energy Citations Database
National Transportation Library
Science Accelerator
NTIS DB Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
NASA Technical Reports Server
Technical Report Archive and Image Library
Trademarks   Patent and Trademark Office
Travel by Members of Congress   Legistorm
Treaties 1950-1984 Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri choose Treaties and Agreements Library
1967-current Thomas
Treaties, in force current US Department of State
1955-current Treaties in force (print)
Treaties with Indian Tribes All Hein Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri choose Treaties and Agreements Library
1778-1883 Indian Affairs. Laws and Treaties (See Vol. 2 of printed set for Treaties)
Or see full text in Hathi Trust
1722-1869 Ratified Indian Treaties, Special Collections, microfilm
Treaties with foreign countries 1776-1949 Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
     U     (return to top)
Unified Agenda 1994-current FDsys
     V     (return to top)
Vetoes, presidential 1789-current Senate
Videos   FedFlix
Government YouTube Channel
C-Span Video Library
Live Feed from U.S. House
Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968-present)
Vital Records   CDC
Voting records of congress 1988-current Proquest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
1989-current Senate (senate.gov)
1990-2008 House of Representatives (house.gov)
current house.gov
1983-current CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
current Open Congress
1989-current GovTrack.us
current Project Vote Smart
     W     (return to top)
Weekly Addresses, Presidential current Weekly Addresses