Skip to main content

Integrating Library Content in Canvas: Databases/Search Boxes

Using Database Search Boxes

More vendors are providing widgets allowing for the creation of database-specific search boxes that can be embedded into Canvas, and web sites.

Here is a listing of some with links to instructions for creating the search boxes.  If a database you are interested in is not listed here, contact Rhonda Whithaus to check on the availability of it.

EBSCO - http://support.ebscohost.com/eit/sbb.php

You can create a search box for a single database or a selection of databases.

Databases available include: Academic Source Complete, AGRICOLA, America: History & Life, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EconLit, Fish & Fisheries Worldwide, GreenFile, Historical Abstracts, Hospitality & Tourism Index, International Bibliography of Theater & Dance Full Text, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, NTIS, PsycINFO, Race Relations Abstracts and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide.

Information needed:

  • Select EBSCOhost Research Databases as the Interface
  • Enter the Proxy prefix:  http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=
  • Select IP Address as the Method of Authentication

GALE - http://access.gale.com/widgets/

Databases available include: Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business & Company Resource Center, Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Gale Directory Library.

Information needed:

  • location ID : morenetuomcolum

JSTOR - http://about.jstor.org/sites/default/files/misc/JSTOR%20Search%20Widget.pdf

This is a PDF with instructions and the code needed to embed the JSTOR search widget.

Information needed (if code does not redirect to your proxy):

  • proxy prefix: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=

 

 

Updated 08/24/2016

Discover@MU Search Box

Discover is a simple and fast search engine that helps you find and retrieve relevant information on any topic from the MU Libraries' collections. It is the place to start your research in scholarly journals, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results, it's one step to the full text of articles or you can see if a book is on the shelf.

 

Discover@MU: Articles, books, & other materials in one comprehensive search!


 

 

You can embed a Discover search bar like this one to Canvas or a web page. This will allow your students to use Discover's engine to find what they are looking for directly from your course. Copy and paste this HTML code into your page to get the search bar embedded:

 

<form action="http://widgets.ebscohost.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/prod/search/" method="get">

<p><b>Discover@MU: Articles, books, & other materials in one comprehensive search!</b></p>
</form>

<form action="http://widgets.ebscohost.com.proxy.mul.missouri.edu/prod/search/" method="get"><input name="spellcheck" type="hidden" value="true" /> <input name="direct" type="hidden" value="true" /> <input name="scope" type="hidden" value="site" /> <input name="site" type="hidden" value="eds-live" /> <input id="proxyprefix" name="proxy" type="hidden" value="" /> <input name="authtype" type="hidden" value="ip,guest" /> <input name="custid" type="hidden" value="s8436643" /> <input name="groupid" type="hidden" value="main" /> <input name="profile" type="hidden" value="eds" /><br />
<input id="GatewayTabEBSCOTextbox" name="bquery" size="30" style="height: 30px;" type="text" value="" />&nbsp; <input class="button search-button" id="GatewayTabSummonSubmitButton" name="GatewayTabSummonSubmitButton" onclick="$('#proxyprefix').val('http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=');" type="submit" value="Search" />
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="5">
</table>
</form>

 

 

 

 

Updated 08/24/2016