Skip to main content

Integrating Library Content in Canvas: Articles from Databases

Linking to Articles in Databases

You can link directly to articles from MU-subscribed databases from your Canvas site.  The instructions in the box to the right are for commonly used databases such as EBSCOhost and JSTOR. For instructions on linking to articles in the libraries' many other databases, see the following:

Link to Articles in Full-text databases and Electronic journals

Contact your subject librarian if you have any questions.

Linking from Factiva

Linking from Ebscohost

Access the desired article

1. Find your article on EBSCOhost. Click the title link to see the article details.

Copy the permanent link

2. On the right side of the screen, click the "Permalink" menu item.

 

 

 

3. Copy the link provided to your clipboard.

 

EBSCO3

Paste the link into your content with the proxy URL

4. Follow the instructions on the front page of this guide to copy the link into your content. EBSCO includes the proxy prefix in the URL, so you can simply copy and paste the complete URL into Canvas. 

 

Updated 08/24/2016

Linking from JSTOR

Access the desired article

1. Find your article on JSTOR. Click the title link to see the article details.

EBSCO4

 

Copy the permanent link

3. Highlight the link in the location shown. This is the stable link. Copy this link to your clipboard.

 

EBSCO5

 

Paste the link into your content with the proxy URL

4. Follow the instructions on the front page of this guide to copy the link into your content. The link should be in the following format:         http://proxy.missouri.edu/login?url=XXXX where the XXXX is the stable link that you copied from JSTOR.

 

Updated 08/24/2016