Cited reference searching allows you to locate books and articles that cite a previously published resource. This process allows you to track the research that has been done since the original item was published.
Why use cited reference searching?
To determine influential research
To find out how a particular research topic is being used to support other research
To find out how many times and where a publication is being cited
To find out who is citing a particular paper
To locate current research based on earlier research
To track the history of a research idea
To track the research history of a researcher
To determine how well your own published research is cited for promotion/tenure considerations
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates
Full-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals.
SciFinder Scholar is a comprehensive chemistry database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science and general chemistry.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE articles. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823
This collection indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited