African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Coverage Dates: 1825-1995
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable database, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Letters and Diaries
Letters & diaries published as books can be found in MERLIN by adding keywords:
Historians will point out that newspapers are not really primary sources since they are not accounts by the historical actors involved. However, they do constitute at least contemporary writing/speaking about the incident that contain good information about the impression available to contemporaries about an event.
YouTube channel hosting uploaded video (TV news and newsreels) from the archives of the Associated Press, going back as far as 1895. Updated frequently, it includes playlists for categories like International Politics, Conflict and Terrorism; Science, Nature and Technology; Fashion and Beauty, etc.
Archival video footage – not only from Britain, but from around the globe – of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, sport and culture. The archive is particularly strong in its coverage of the First and Second World Wars.
The ProQuest Congressional database indexes and provides full text access to government information dating to 1789. Content is sourced mainly from Congress and its committees, but some executive branch reports to Congress are also included. Document types include hearings (1824-2003), congressional committee prints and miscellaneous publications (1830-current), House and Senate documents and reports (1980-2003), the Congressional record and its predecessors (1789-1999), the Congressional Serial Set (1980-2003), and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports(1916-2003). Some Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports from 2004 forward have been added to the database, though they are also freely available on GAO.gov. For a complete description of ProQuest Congressional contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the Content Coverage Chart on the database’s main search screen
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more.
U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes.
The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force.
Based primarily on holdings of the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University, including early state codes, city charters, and documents relating to constitutional conventions. Missouri resources include state constitutional conventions, adopted Constitutions, and historical Revised Statutes, among other resources. Access provided by the MU Law Library.
The official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Includes a wide variety of primary source material, including declassified documents. Published approximately thirty years after the period covered.
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present.
The GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972. In addition, since the GSS adopted questions from earlier surveys, trends can be followed for up to 70 years.
The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.