Skip to main content

Brief Guide to Resources for Research: Try First: Resources for Research
 

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete

Scopus

logo_scopus:   Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

JSTOR

jstor:   Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

Search & Find: Summon

Google Scholar

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Current & Controversial Issues

CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

News & Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographics/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder

Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.