Library Guides: Cited reference searching: Home

What is cited reference searching?

Cited reference searching allows you to locate books and articles that cite a previously published resource. This process allows you to track the research that has been done since the original item was published.

Description of cited reference searching:

A researcher publishes an article in 2005.
Other researchers read this 2005 article and cite it in their research publications that are published after 2005.
Researchers, using databases that track cited references, can now look up the original 2005 article and discover newer publications that have cited it. These newer publications may also be of interest because their content is related to the original 2005 article.

Why search for cited references?

To determine influential research
To find out how a particular research topic is being used to support other research
To find out how many times and where a publication is being cited
To find out who is citing a particular paper
To locate current research based on earlier research
To track the history of a research idea
To track the research history of a researcher
To determine how well your own published research is cited for promotion/tenure considerations

Which multidisciplinary databases provide cited references?

The multidisciplinary databases below provide cited reference information for all the articles they index.

Search results can be sorted by times cited counts.

Dimensions
Provides times cited counts for scholarly journal articles published, books and book chapters, preprints and conference proceedings.
Requires free registration.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported
Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Which subject specialized databases provide cited references?

The subject specialized databases below provide cited reference information for all the articles they index.

EconLit
Covers information on accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs.
Date Coverage: 1969-date

Maximum Users: 4

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/c.php?g=27933&p=175454
IEEE Xplore
Access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
MathSciNet
An index of articles related to pure and applied mathematics. It is based on the data in the Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Date Coverage: 1940-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plural: Automatic; Wildcard: *
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1966-date.
Maximum Users: 44
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Tutorial: http://www.screencast.com/users/lottes/folders/Jing/media/a7a0252d-37e8-4b6e-8d59-29f60369ada3
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus publisher-supplied and out-of-scope citations from science and chemistry journals.
CAS SciFinder
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html

Which databases have a cited reference search option?

In the resources below, you can look up a specific article to see a listing of the more recent publications that have cited it.

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database.
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Business Source Premier
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
CINAHL (Ebsco)
Index to literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines.
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Included is CINAHL which covers both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such
as:Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology and Respiratory Therapy.

Date Coverage: 1982-present
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Date Coverage: 1915-present

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
Environment Complete
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/c/EBSCOSupportTutorials
GreenFILE
Index for articles about the relationship between human beings and the environment.
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Truncation:
? for single character wild card; # for alternate spelling; * for truncation
Note: Wildcards and Truncation can not be combined for a term in a search. For example, a search for p#ediatric* would be the same as a search for P*..
Hospitality and Tourism Index
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1960-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
MLA International Bibliography Full Text
Indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1963-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Music Index
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Date Coverage: 1979-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
Contains references to articles in periodicals, technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Date Coverage: 1872-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/PsychInfo
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Index to sport and sport medicine journals.
Select "Cited References" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Coverage: 1985-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Web of Science Core Collection
Select "Cited Reference Search" at the top of the search page.to look up a specific reference to find articles that cite it.
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Where can I search for cited references for books?

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Dimensions
Database of scholarly publications.
Currently includes over one million monographs and edited books.
Provides citation counts and altmetric data.
Requires free registration.

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *