Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE articles. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided.
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals.
SciFinder Scholar is a comprehensive chemistry database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science and general chemistry.
Cited reference searching allows you to locate books and articles that cite a previously published resource. This process allows you to track the research that has been done since the original item was published.
Why use cited reference searching?
To locate current research based on earlier research
To determine influential research
To find out how many times and where a publication is being cited
To find out who is citing a particular paper
To find out how a particular research topic is being used to support other research
To track the history of a research idea
To track the research history of a researcher
To determine how well your own published research is cited for promotion/tenure considerations
What should concern you about cited reference searching?
Citation rates vary widely from field to field and shouldn't be taken at face value, but considered relative to the field of research
Citation rate may be based on a few prolific authors citing each other, including self citations
Citation searching works better for journal articles than books
Cross-disciplinary research may produce fewer citations
Coverage of your particular field in the citation database may be weak
The research may too recent and not widely known, like emerging fields
The quality of the journal producing the citation
Distribution of the citations over time might be more indicative of their importance than an initial high citation count shortly after publication
There is a growing tendency of some researchers to go after topics likely to get into high-impact journals, which jeopardizes creativity, can skew the course or even slow the pace of science
Some journals also cite articles in editorials, reviews, news and other non-research articles to increase the number of cites
There is no guarantee that every paper which ought to be cited will be cited. An un-cited author may be ahead of his peers. Mendel and his genetics work went unappreciated for years