U.S. Federal Information on Foreign Countries: Employment & Labor

Includes annual reports, publications on child labor, foreign labor trends, United States Employment Impact Review, Labor Rights Report, Laws Governing Exploitative Child Labor Report and North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation (NAALC) documents.

The Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor leads the U.S. efforts to promote democracy, protect human rights and international religious freedom, and advance labor rights globally.

Fact sheets present a snapshot of working conditions in various sectors. Also available are case studies, annual reports, findings, and various other publications.

ILRF is an advocacy organization dedicated to achieving just and humane treatment for workers worldwide. Annual reports from 2003-present.

Publishes International Standards, research results, statistics, news, featured articles and more on a variety of topics related to labor. Topics covered include enterprise development, social security, gender issues, international migration, industrial relations, labour law, child labour, occupational safety and health, and workers’ rights. Employment in the globalized economy and in the information society is a primary focus. The problems confronting workers and employers in developing, transition and industrialized economies are addressed, the objective being to contribute to the ILO goal of “decent work” for all.

A comprehensive database of country-level data on 20 key indicators of the labour market, a training tool on development and use of labour market statistics, highlights of current labour market trends and analyses of key issues in the labour market.

Labordoc, the ILO Library's database, contains references and full text access to the world's literature on the world of work. Includes books, articles, reports, and journals available at the ILO Library in Geneva and ILO libraries around the world.

Covers official core labour statistics and estimates for over 200 countries since 1969. Also provides methodological descriptions of main national statistical sources.

Compiles web sites which contain data from national statistical agencies, the ILO and other sources. Includes links to source web sites and references to print publications available in the ILO Library.

Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation. Provides abstracts of legislation and relevant citation information, and they are indexed by keywords and by subject classifications. Each record in NATLEX appears in only one of the three ILO official languages (English/French/Spanish). Where possible, the full text of the law or a relevant electronic source is linked to the record.

Processed child labour data can be accessed in the form of national child labour survey reports, statistical country-briefs and other resources derived from household-based SIMPOC surveys.

By the International Labour office. MU ELLIS HD4826 .B8

By the International Labour Organization (ILO).
Detailed articles on specific industries, occupations, hazards, medicine and hygiene, and social policy issues. MU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY REFERENCE WA13 .E56 1998

Coverage is from 1935 to 2006. MU ELLIS HD4826 .I63

The 2-vol. St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide provides in-depth analysis of more than 300 key events in labor history over the last 200 years, focusing on the relevance of these events to both the labor movement as a whole and to societal changes around the world.

MU ELLIS REFERENCE HD4839 .S74 2004