U.S. Federal Information on Foreign Countries: Law & Justice

Consists of three areas: (1) the Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) the Lecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) the Research Library providing an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides.

Contains the historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and private international law. For example, the newly issued 2008 edition includes speeches, US briefs filed in federal courts, letters and statements submitted to the United Nations, and correspondence between the State Department and foreign embassies. 1989-2008 editions are available.

Extensive collection of primary sources, web sites, and reference materials on international law concerning environment, economic, human rights, crime, communications, disputes, use of force and other topics.

GlobalSecurity.org is the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the field of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security.

Created in 1923, it facilitates cross-border police co-operation, and supports and assists all authorities whose mission is to prevent or combat international crime. Publications include fact sheets on various topics, and annual reports from 1998 to date.

The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International law.

Consolidates all information on treaty actions (i.e.,signatures, ratifications, accessions, denunciations, miscellaneous notifications, reservations, declarations and objections) undertaken relating to the multilateral treaties.

Treaties in Force is prepared for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are in force as of its stated publication date.

Includes UN Treaty Series (December 1946-December 2006), League of Nations Treaty Series (5 July 1920 - 3 October 1944), Photographs of Signature Ceremonies, Treaty Handbook, and other documents.

Treaty database searchable by Popular name, Title, Participant and by full-text.

Deals with disputes within the international trade community--among nations, individuals, foreign and domestic manufacturers, consumer groups, trade associations, labor unions, and concerned citizens. Slip Opinions are available from 1999 to present.

Searchable database of reports on areas in conflict, contentious issues, and conflict resolution initiatives. A section of particular interest is the Peace Agreements Digital Collection, which aims to include the full text of all peace agreements signed worldwide since 1989, covering both inter- and intrastate conflicts.

by Jerry M. Rosenberg Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995.

by J.A.S. Grenville and Bernard Wasserstein. London ; New York : Methuen, 1987.

Editor, Fred L. Israel ; commentaries by Emanuel Chill ; with an introductory essay by Arnold Toynbee. New York : Chelsea House Publishers, 1967-1980.

The threat of transnational organized crime -- Trafficking in persons -- Smuggling of migrants -- Cocaine -- Heroin -- Firearms -- Environmental resources -- Counterfeit products -- Maritime piracy -- Cybercrime