This handy work lists the basic reference tools for all sorts of literary research. In the online version you can sign up for a free account and collect the resources that will help you with each research project. We have most, although not all, of the tools listed in the Guide.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates
In addition to sections devoted to Latin paleography, diplomatics, computer-assisted research, numismatics, archaeology, problems in chronology, and prospography, this text describes state-of-the-art research methodology and critical approaches to English literature, Latin philosophies, law, science, art and music.
Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature
by David Wallace (Editor)
Call Number: PR255 .C35 1999
Publication Date: 1999
This is the first full-scale history of medieval English literature in nearly a century. Thirty-three contributors provide information on a vast range of literary texts and the conditions of their production and reception. The volume also contains a chronology, full bibliography and a detailed index.
A Companion to Middle English Prose
by A. S. G. Edwards (Editor)
Call Number: PR255 .C655 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The essays in this volume provide an up-to-date and authoritative guide to the major prose Middle English authors and genres.
Reading Old English Texts
by Katherine O. O'Keeffe (Editor)
Call Number: PR173 .O38 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Reading Old English Texts focuses on the critical methods currently being used and developed for reading and analyzing writings in Old English.
Chaucer and the fifteenth century
by H. S. Bennett
Also Known as: DOE The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 – 1150 A.D.) of the English language, complementing the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 – 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary. The three together provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
PE131 .M5 2001
A new edition of the most widely used introduction to Old English language and literature. Includes a range of helpful pedagogical tools - a map of Anglo-Saxon England, notes, a glossary, indexes to Part I, and a general introduction to Anglo-Saxon studies.
“Digital Medievalist is an international web-based Community of Practice for medievalists working with digital media. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects.”