Library Guides: HIST 2950: European Migration in the 19th-20th Centuries: Emigrant Guides

Locating Emigrant Guides

In the MERLIN catalog (or MOBIUS, or Worldcat), try a simple search for guide and emigra*. Some books will be e-books; many others will be found in the State Historical Society or Special Collections.

Europeana Digital Library: Immigration & Emigration
Many of the items digitized here are emigrant guides.
The western gazetteer; or emigrant's directory, containing a geographical description of the western states and territories, viz. the states of Kentucky, Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee [!] and Mississippi
An 1817 guide for emigrants available at the State Historical Society and Special Collections.
View of the valley of the Mississippi, or, The emigrant's and traveller's guide to the West
1834 guide to the Mississippi Valley, available in Special Collections and the State Historical Society.
The history of Texas , or, The emigrant's, farmer's, and politician's guide to the character, climate, soil and productions of that country
1836 emigrant's guide to Texas, available in Special Collections.
Illinois in 1837 : a sketch descriptive of the situation, boundaries, face of the country, prominent districts, prairies...
Emigrant's guide to Illinois, available in Special Collections.
The Latter-Day Saints' emigrants' guide : being a table of distances, showing all the springs, creeks, rivers, hills, mountains, camping places, and all other notable places, from Council Bluffs, to the valley of the Great Salt Lake.
1848 emigrant's guide printed in St. Louis. Available in Special Collections.
A sermon on emigration from the Highlands and Islands of Scotland to Australia
Not a guide, but a sermon revealing contemporary attitudes in 1852. Available in Special Collections.
The western tourist and emigrant's guide : through the states ofOhio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Iowa, and Wisconsin, and the territories of Minesota, Missouri, and Nebraska.
1854 guide available in Special Collections.
Kanzas and Nebraska : the history, geographical and physical characteristics, and political position of these territories : an account of the emigrant aid companies, and directions to emigrants
1854 guide available in Special Collections and the State Historical Society.