Library Guides: Music: Find Recorded Music

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library
Provides online access to western classical music , world music, and jazz recordings.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: 5
Truncation: Not supported
Naxos Video Library
A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, documentaries, and master classes.
Maximum Users: 10

App for Naxos Music Library

Apple App for Naxos Music Library (free)

Android App for Naxos Music Library (free)

To enable the app, you have to create an account on the Naxos server.
- It is easiest if you do this from a computer NOT FROM YOUR PHONE.
First, connect to Naxos
- If you are off campus, enter your username to connect.
In the middle of the page under the banner, select PLAYLISTS. Then under STUDENT / MEMBER PLAYLISTS select SIGN UP. Enter the information asked for and create a password. The Naxos server will send a confirmation to the email address you have entered. Click on the confirmation link Naxos sends you and the account will be activated.
In the APP itself enter the email address you gave Naxos and the password you created. Once you link to Naxos, you will see three folders, the University of Missouri playlists, your playlist (empty), and the Naxos Music Library Playlist. Select that playlist to browse or search the Naxos library, listen to tracks, or create playlists.

Online Archives

UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive

10,000 wax cylinder recording from the 19th and early 20th century available for download, streaming, and re-use.

National Jukebox

Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress. "Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925."

CDs and LPs at MU Libraries

Discover@MU

Audio recordings in all formats are listed in Discover@MU. Search by keyword for composer, performer, title, genre, and then use the filter in the left sidebar to limit to format audio.
Note that CDs and LPs have been moved off-site to our remote storage depository, but you can click the request button by each item to have them brought to campus.

CDs & LPs at other Columbia Libraries

The Von Freeman Memorial Lending Library
The “We Always Swing”® Jazz Series jazz recording and book collection open to the public.
- listen at their library free of charge, or borrow items for a week with a membership (student rates are available)
more...less...
-- Location: the Jazz Series offices, 21 N. Tenth St., Columbia, MO

The Library’s catalog is online - can browse and search the collection: www.wealwaysswing.org/library.

Ethnomusicology field recordings

Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings (Am Explorer)

→ connect to AM Explorer → Collections → Ethnomusicology.

Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study