Skip to main content

Art

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Finding Information about an artist


Dead or famous living artist

Start with Oxford Art Online to locate information about an artist. Use the bibliography at the end of the article to identify books and articles about the artist. If you are still having trouble, search the International Bibliography of Art, Bibiography of the History of Art, and JStor for articles. If you still cannot find anything, try Dictionary of Artists or Allgemeines Kunstler-Lexicon. This provide minimal information, but often have bibliographies that are useful. Even if you do not read German, you can usually find the bibliography, if there is one, in the Kunstler-Lexicon.

Contemporary Artist

Start with Oxford Art Online to locate information about an artist. Use the bibliography at the end of the article to identify books and articles about the artist. If you cannot find the artist on Oxford Art, try Google and hope for a Wikipedia article or the artist's website. You should also try  Art Full Text for articles. If you are still not having any luck try searching for the artist in one of the newspaper databases.
 

Need to find a topic or browse for an artist to write about.
Oxford Art Online Subject Guide is the best place. 


Overviews of Movements / Periods / National art / techniques

Oxford Art Online is the best place. 

 

Describing a piece from the MU Museum of Art and Archaeology

You will have to describe the physical properties of the piece and put it into a historical context.
Use Oxford Art Online to find information about its historical context.

Be a master of Google

Use Google Scholar to find articles.

Use Google Books to find books or chapters in books.

Use Google Advanced Search to help you learn what Google can do.

Configure Google to find full text paid for by the Library.