Cited Reference Searching
Posters
This is the "Articles" page of the "Biochemistry 4974" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biochemistry 4974   Tags: course guides  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/biochem4974 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Biochemistry

image from flickr.com courtesy of wellcome images

Resources for finding journal articles

  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Indexes journals, conference proceedings and books in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.

    Use Scopus for any topic, but remember comprehensive coverage is only back to 1996.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)  
      
      Icon
    SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service or CAS) contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature (1907 to date), patents, and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Continually updated. To search, you must first register using your MU e-mail address.

    Use Scifinder Scholar when researching a particular chemical substance or looking for patents.
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    Index to biomedical journals, 1946 to date.

    Use Pubmed when researching medical topics.

    Instructions for setting up Find It@MU links in PubMed to more easily access the full-text of articles.
  • Google Scholar
    Search engine for the scholarly literature in all disciplines.
    Instructions for setting up Find It at MU links in Google Scholar for easy access to the full-text of articles.
 

Anatomy of a journal article

A research article in a journal normally has the following sections:

  1. Title--simple summary of the main idea of the paper
  2. Name of authors(s) and institutional affiliation
  3. Abstract--brief summary of the article
  4. Introduction--discusses prior research and states the study's purpose, rationale and hypothesis
  5. Methods--detailed description of how study was conducted
  6. Results--summary of data collected and statistical treatment of data
  7. Discussion--reviews, interprets and evaluates results of the study particularly with respect to the original hypothesis
  8. Acknowledgements
  9. References--literature cited

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Janice Dysart
Logo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
169 Ellis Library
(573)882-1828
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip