Please suggest additions to this guide here.
These are the databases that we had on trial during the NEH seminar. Although the trials are over, these links will take you to information about the databases.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries – Trial
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 90,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- British Literary Manuscripts Online, c.1660-1900 – Trial
A digital archive of manuscript materials. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- Eighteenth Century Journals Portal – Trial
This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion. NOTE the download options are not available for the trial. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online - Trial
Features more than 16,000 essays on the lives and works of influential literary figures in all genres. This online collection is comprised of: Dictionary of Literary Biography (vols. 1-348), Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (50 vols.) and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.). TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY.
- Gale News Vault – Trial
Contains several collections of online periodicals, including the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection; 19th Century British Library Newspapers I & II; 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals: Empire; The Times Digital Archive; The Times Literary Supplement Digital Archive; 19th Century US Newspapers; Economist Historical Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Listener Historical Archive; Picture Post Historical Archive. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period – Trial
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- NCCO: Nineteenth-Century Collections Online – Trial
A growing collection of primary source documents from the long 19th Century: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- Orlando Women's Writing in the British Isles – Trial
Orlando provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY
- Romanticism Redefined – Trial
Romanticism Redefined is a searchable collection of works focusing in the period between 1800 and 1830. Included is poetry, prose, drama, letters,and diaries—along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period – Trial
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes 60 volumes of poetry by 47 authors. Accompanying the texts are extensive bio-critical essays, specially written for the database by leading scholars in the field, as well as selected criticism from the critical bibliography compiled by the editors. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY.
- Women Writers Online – Trial
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850. TRIAL ENDED. INFORMATION ONLY.