Skip to main content

Area Studies Microforms

Area Studies microforms collections are those collections which pertain to a specific region and/or country. Collections are grouped by region, and within region, alphabetically by country. Be sure to check listings for both the general resources and the

Africa: Special Studies, 1962-1980

Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America, 1961
7 reel(s)

The forty-five studies presented in this collection deal with the political, military, and economic problems of post-World War II Africa. The topics covered include the formation and functioning of the local elites, land reform and mineral resources, insurgency and counterinsurgency warfare in Algeria, Kenya, Namibia, and Rhodesia, the African policy of the United States, the involvement of Soviet and Cuban forces in Angola, Eritrea, and on the Horn of Africa, the African policy of China, and the arms procurement of African states. The studies concern the following African countries: Algeria, Angola, Congo (Zaire), Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zimbabwe (Rhodesia).

FILM BOOK 0110

Guides:

Kesaris, Paul (ed.). Africa: Special Studies, 1962-1980 PDF

The guide provides a list of all the studies together with short descriptions of their contents. The guide also includes a subject index. Also available under call number DT30.5 .A45 1981.

CIA Research Reports: Africa, 1946-1976.

Frederick, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1982
3 reel(s)

The Central Intelligence Agency reports in this collection are arranged with general reports on continental Africa first, then alphabetically by country, and finally chronologically within each country. The countries include Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Congo (Zaire), Djibouti, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Malagasy Republic, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Zambia, Union of South Africa, Sudan, and Tanzania. Subjects covered include colonialism, communist activities, economics, food crises, nationalism, sanctions, petroleum, foreign relations, and government and politics.

FILM BOOK 0093

Guides:

CIA research reports : Africa, 1946-1976 PDF

The guide contains a table of contents, a reel index, and a subject index. Also available under call number DT29 .C2 1983.

Human Relations Area Files.

Ann Arbor, Mich: University Microfilms International, 1968 
Human Relations Area Files

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) were developed to facilitate study, teaching, and research in the behavioral sciences, in area studies, and in the humanities. They should be especially valuable as a basis for world and comparative studies of human behavior, social life, and culture in the fields of anthropology, sociology, geography, politics, and psychology. The HRAF files are reputed to be one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of cultural data in existence and they cover approximately three hundred world cultures. The collection contains books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and the results of field work. HRAF material includes many rare sources and many exclusive translations from foreign texts. HRAF's unique arrangement facilitates comparative studies.

An uncataloged guide, The Nature and the Use of HRAF Files, is available in the Special Collections Office. The collection is organized into separate Cultural Files, each of which corresponds to a cultural unit listed in the Outline of World Cultures (OWC). Within each cultural file the material is organized according to the subject classification system in the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). A complete list of the titles included in the collection is available in HRAF Source Bibliography. The researcher may also wish to consult the Index to the Human Relations Area Files and its supplement (1979). Users are encouraged to ask a Special Collections staff member for assistance in the use of this collection. 
NOT IN MERLIN

MICF 300.2

Guides:

Murdock, George Peter Outline of World Cultures (OWC).

Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

HRAF Source Bibliography

Contains a list of titles in the HRAF collection.

Index to the Human Relations Area Files

The index is a page-by-page, line-by-line index to the sources included in the HRAF files organized (up to 1979) according to the subject categories in the OCM.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1983-1984 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1984 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of papers written for the United States Congress in the years 1983-1984. The papers cover a wide variety of fields. In the field of legal and constitutional issues the topics include political campaign financing, church/state relations, abortion, immigration, crime, law enforcement, equal rights for women, and computer security. Among the governmental and political issues covered are congressional procedure, the Democratic and the Republican Party Conventions of 1984, the federal budget, and the federal deficit. Environmental issues include radioactive waste, acid rain, wildlife preservation, alternative energy sources, nuclear power, and air pollution. International and defense topics include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), intermediate nuclear force negotiations, Soviet-American military balance, defense costs, space programs, Sino-Soviet relations, the internal situation in the Baltic Republics of the Soviet Union, the turmoil in Lebanon, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the crisis in South Africa, civil war in Chad, agitation in the Philippines, American intervention in Grenada, internal conflicts in El Salvador and Nicaragua, and the European integration process. In social policy the subjects covered are health care, social security, education, and federal assistance programs for children, elderly, handicapped, and veterans. Economic topics covered include the economic recovery of the eighties, labor and unemployment, housing, monetary and fiscal policy, banking and financial services, taxation, international trade, high technology, conditions in industry, and agriculture.

FILM BOOK 0311 1983-84

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service, 1984-1985 Supplement.

Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1985 
13 reel(s)

This is a collection of studies written for the United States Congress in the years 1984-1985. These studies deal both with problems related to the internal conditions of the United States and with America's foreign relations. The studies concerned with internal American problems cover topics such as sex discrimination, church/state relations, civil rights legislation, crime, and law enforcement, relations between the executive and legislative branches of government, political campaigns and elections in 1984, the federal budget, environmental protection, acid rain, pollution, nuclear power, natural resources, social security and Medicare/Medicaid, housing, poverty and food programs, federal assistance to veterans, children, the handicapped and elderly, auto safety, industrial policy, mergers, unemployment and employment, taxation, pensions, international trade, banking and finance, and agriculture. The defense issues covered include Strategic Arms Reduction Talks (START), Intermediate nuclear Forces (INF) negotiations, American weapon systems (e.g. Trident, Pershing II, Cruise, M1 tank, F-14, F-15, F-16, and F/A-18 fighter planes, defense costs, and space programs. In the field of international relations, the subjects include American activities in Central America, internal conditions in selected Central American countries (Nicaragua and El Salvador), the Soviet policy in Asia, East-West commercial relations, American-Soviet relations, American involvement in Lebanon, the internal conflict in Lebanon, famine in Africa, the situation in South Africa, international terrorism, and American military installations in Southern Europe.

FILM BOOK 0311 1984-85

Guides:

A Guide to Major studies and issue briefs of the Congressional Research Service … Supplement.

The guide lists all the studies by title and provides a subject index.

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of British Africa, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1964 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 583; v. National Archives record group 59.
33 reel(s)

The changing political situation in British South Africa (South Africa) is discussed in this Department of State decimal file. Other subjects treated are public safety, military affairs, industrial matters, economic conditions, communication, and transportation. The remaining records relate to internal affairs in other areas of British Africa such as Cape of Good Hope Colony (South Africa), Transvaal, Natal, Rhodesia, Basutoland (Lesotho), Bechuanaland (Botswana), British West Africa (Camaroons, Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, and Togoland), Nigeria, Gold Coast (Ghana), Sierre Leone, Gambia, British East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and Zanzibar), Uganda, Zanzibar, British Somaliland (Somalia), and Nyasaland (Malawi).

An uncataloged guide, Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of British Africa, 1910-29, is available in the Special Collections Office. The guide and a complete list of the documents included are on reel one. The documents are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 7:4

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between British Africa and Other States, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 585; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The settlement of boundary questions is the most pervasive subject of the Department of State decimal file related to British Africa and other countries. Included are documents that discuss the delimitation of the northern boundary of Angola, the boundary dispute between British East Africa (Kenya and Tanzania) and Uganda, the Belgian Congo (Zaire) and German East Africa (most ceded to Britain, now known as Tanzania, the rest is now Rwanda and Burundi), between Tanganyika (Tanzania) and Ruanda-Urundi (Rwanda and Burundi), between Kenya and Italian Somaliland (part of Somalia), and between British Somaliland (part of Somalia) and Ethiopia. Negotiated over a number of years and fully documented in this collection is the dispute between British South Africa (South Africa) and Lourenco Marquez concerning the takeover of the Delgadoes Bay Railway as well as the Mozambique Convention whose main topics were the railway problem, recruiting of labor in Portuguese East Africa for gold mining in the Rand, and equal exchange of products between Lourenco Marquez and the Transvaal.

A complete list of the contents of the collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 7:4

United States. Department of State. Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and British Africa, 1910-29.

Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, 1966 
National Archives microfilm publications. Microcopy no. M 584; v. National Archives record group 59.
1 reel(s)

The primary subject of this Department of State decimal file is the treaty of commerce and navigation between the United States and Zanzibar. The treaty, in part, interprets and reaffirms treaties made with Muscat in 1833 and with Zanzibar in 1866. Controversial provisions deal with immunity of United States consular officers in courts of Zanzibar, price-fixing to discriminate against United States citizens in Zanzibar, and the exemption from taxes of American citizens in Zanzibar. Other documents discuss relations between the United States and Liberia, including the American proposal for a protectorate over Liberia and Firestone Rubber Corporation's assumption of Liberia's indebtedness to the United States in return for concessions to grow rubber.

A complete list of the contents of this collection precedes the filmed documents. They are arranged by subject according to the Department of State's decimal classification system.

FILM 7:4

United States. Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Daily Report.

Washington, D.C.: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, 1941
322 reel(s)

These analyses and translations from foreign broadcasts, news accounts, commentaries, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements were collected daily from 1941 to 1974. This monitoring service tracked reports of the Eastern European countries, the People's Republic of China, the Soviet Union, Western Europe, Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific. These reports were compiled into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service White Book. The early reports include accounts of World War II events from a foreign perspective.

A table of contents in each issue lists the countries for which a translation has been included. The publications are arranged chronologically.

Indexes for each of the eight sections are published commercially and titled REF DJK50 .I52 Index. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report: [Section]. Ellis Library only has the index for Eastern Europe.

FILM 11:6-12:6

Guides:

Daily report, Eastern Europe. Index.