This is the "Home: Phylum, Class, Order, Family" page of the "Animal Species: Guide to Finding Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Animal Species: Guide to Finding Information   Tags: animal species, subject guides  

Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/animalspecies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home: Phylum, Class, Order, Family Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Start Here

Try the resources on this page to find information on a phylum, class, order or family.  Often this will lead to finding more information about an animal than searching by genus and species name.

 

Print Resources

eBooks (highly recommended)

 Kingdoms and Domains: An Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth 

  • Type in the name of the phylum for your species and click Search Document
  • Click on the first;  below the search box.
  • Click on  in the InfoTools header to view each page in book that contains information on the phylum.

eResources

  • EOL Encyclopedia of Life
    Growing collection of information on the world's 1.8 million known species. Highly recommended.
  • ITIS:Integrated Taxonomic Information System
    Taxonomic information on North American animals, plants and microbes compiled by U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies, organizations and taxonomic specialists.
  • Discover Life
    Interactive encyclopedia of life with over 1 million species.
  • Catalogue of Life
    Provides complete taxonomic hierarchy for each species from Kingdom down to Species.
  • eSpecies.org
    A search engine for species
  • NatureServe Explorer an Online Encyclopedia of Life
    Type in scientific or common name and then click on comprehensive report. The report includes distribution and conservation information, ecology and life history, and references to further information.
  • Animal Diversity Web
    Searchable by common name, scientific name, phylum, class, order, suborder, subfamily, and genus.
  • Tree of Life Web Project
    Searchable by taxonomic or common name. Includes basic information, key references and web sites.
  • Wikispecies
    Consult references provided in listings for books and journal articles on species and families.
  • World Biodiversity Database
    Contains taxonomic information (hierarchies), species names, synonyms, descriptions, illustrations and literature references when available.
  • Macaulay Library
    Audio and video library of animal species from around the world.

Databases for Articles

 

Further Help?

Please stop by the Ellis Library Reference Desk on 1st Floor, South

Contact Us

 

About this Guide

Content selected by
Janice Dysart
Science Librarian
(573) 882-1828
DysartJ@missouri.edu


Libguide design by Neil Dazet,
Ellis Library Graduate Reference Assistant


Red Legged Frog, photo by John Bettaso

African Elephant, photo by Gary M. Stolz

Adult Goshawk, photo by W.M. Smith

Diamondback Terrapin, photo by Ryan Hagerty

Hermit Crab, photo by USFWS

Cecropia Moth, photo by Ed Loth

 Mollusk, photo by Craig Stihler

The above images are in the public domain and are from the National Digital Library of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip