Skip to Main Content

English Literature: Modern and Contemporary: Reference

Additional Reference Pages

Links to the Guide's other Reference pages.

Reference Collections & Portals

Reference resources provide useful background information to help you get oriented to a topic or find directions for new discoveries.

Literature Online Reference
Search a variety of literary reference sources: biographies, bibliographies, specialized encyclopedias, synopses.
Literature Online Websites
Search a database of authoritative websites for literary study.
Literary Resources on the Net
Voice of the Shuttle Web Site for Humanities Research

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Provides access to many of Oxford's reference sources: can choose among Dictionaries, overview pages, subject references, and timelines.
more...less...
Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: 2-5

Truncation:
Automatic

Guides to Reference Sources

Literary Research Guide
Ready Reference PR83 .H34 2008.
An annotated guide to reference sources for the study of literatures in English and related topics.
A Guide to English and American Literature
Z2011 .B32 1976
A Reference Guide for English Studies
Reference PR56 .M37 1990
Guide to Reference Books
Ready Reference Z1035.1 .G89 1996