Skip to main content

English 4188/7188: Victorian Women Writers: Book Reviews

Victorian Periodicals in the MU Libraries

The MU Libraries collections include many 19th century periodicals in print format. We list here some of the major examples. If you need to request volumes from the Depository, click on the title below to open the MERLIN catalog record, then click on "Request" at the top of the screen and follow the directions.

Most of these have also been digitized and are searchable in full text as part of the Hathi Trust Digital Library or may be available online in the British Periodicals database. To search within a specific journal in the Hathi Trust Digital Library, use the Advanced Catalog Search to locate the specific journal record, then view the catalog record to see the individual years. Click on a year to open the full text and search within that volume. Note that different catalog records come from different libraries and may contain different years. A volume that is not available in one place, may well be in another.

English Literary Periodicals 1681-1941 is a set of microfilm that includes many journals of interest. These are shelved alphabetically by the title of the journal or magazine in the microforms area of Special Collections. This collection is reproduced online as part of British Periodicals, but the microfilm may still be of use if you find the quality of the digital image to be less than satisfactory. The guide Accessing English Literary Periodicals includes a subject index, listing journals by broad subject category. 

Book Review Indexes

Online collections index early periodicals, and in some cases provide the full text of the periodicals.
If the full text is not available, FindIt@MU links will appear and link you to online or print copies. If we have neither, it'll link you to ILL@MU. We should be able to get copies of things we don't have via interlibrary loan. But first, check the Hathi Trust Digital Library, which contains the full text of many periodicals and books. Using the advanced full text search you can limit a full text search to serials or journals ("Limit to original format") or to a specific periodical.

C19 provides a collection of indexes and catalogs of 19th Century materials, but does not search the full text of periodicals.
This is a collection of various indexes, each with distinctive search features. For best results, search each one rather than using the global search option

British Periodicals (the separate database, not the section within C19) searches the full text of articles within 500 journals, 17th through early 20th centuries.

JSTOR provides the full text of many journals from the 18th to the present.

Literature Online - Criticism indexes criticism from 1884-present.

The Reader's Guide Retrospective indexes periodicals from 1890-1982.

All of these offer the option to limit your search to reviews only, but the tagging of reviews is not always thorough, so this may accidentally exclude some reviews.

Print indexes are located in Room 202 in Ellis Library.
These may supplement the online indexes, but provide only citations, or sometimes a brief summary. Use this search widget to find the specific journal, either online or in print. And again, check the Hathi Trust Digital Library.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
Room 202  Z1035.A1 C639

Book Review Digest, 1905--
Room 202  Z1219.C96

Compilations of Reviews

The authors covered in this class all have entries in multiple volumes of the various Gale reference sets. These are compilations of excerpts from reviews and critical journals, arranged chronologically. Look up an author or work in the online Literary Index to identify which set, volume, and pages deal with that work. The print volumes are kept in Reference:
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) PN761 .N5
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) PN94 .T88

Subject Librarian