Skip to main content

IMSE 8087: Measuring Research Quality and Impact: Times Cited Counts

Resources for compiling times cited counts

There are many resources that record citation counts for published material. None are considered comprehensive.

Scopus

  • Times cited counts for journal articles published from 1996 to date.  Older material back to 1970 is being added .
  • Coverage is strongest for the sciences and social sciences, but humanities publications are also included. 
  • Indexes 21,800 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Book coverage back to 2013.

Scopus Citation Overview

  • Search by author and then select the author's name to view the Scopus Author Details which tracks research output and citation activity for an individual.
  • From the Author Details page select View Citation Overview to see a chart of publications with the times cited counts.
  • Use the Export feature (top, right side of the page) to export the data into a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet.

Scopus Secondary Documents

Secondary documents are items not available in the Scopus database but are extracted from references found in Scopus.

  • To view these non-Scopus references, click the View secondary documents link above your search results for either an author or topic.
  • These non-Scopus document titles appear in gray text and are indicated by this icon
  • Citation counts are provided for these secondary documents.
  • Secondary documents include items that have been cited incorrectly by the citing article.

Web of Science

  • Times cited counts for journal articles back to 1900 (science), back to 1956 (social sciences) and back to1975 (humanities).
  • Coverage is strongest for the sciences and social sciences, but selected humanities publications are included.
  • Indexes over 12,000 scholarly and technical journals.
  • Book coverage back to 2005.
     

Web of Science Citation Report

Citation Report

  • Search by author to create a Citation Report to track research output and citation activity for an individual.
  • Citation Reports can be exported into Microsoft Excel or saved as text files.

Web of Science Cited Reference Search

  • Conduct a Cited Reference Search to find citations and times cited counts for items not indexed by Web of Science.
  • Do a Cited Reference Search to find citations and times cited counts for items indexed by Web of Science before 1990.
  • Results of a Cited Reference Search will also provide times cited counts for items that have been cited incorrectly by the citing article.

Amazon

The Amazon.com Citations program provides times cited data for books in the Product Details section for a title. This data is available only for items offering the "search inside the book" feature and is limited to book to book citations.

Questions? Ask me!

Janice Dysart, Science LibrarianJanice Dysart
Science Librarian
169 Ellis Library
573-882-1828

email me button

Google Books

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

  • Times cited counts for both articles and books
  • All subject areas--science, social science and humanities
  • Date coverage is unknown

Google Scholar Profile

Register for Google Scholar Citations to track citations to your publications.

Additional Resources

Many subject specialized databases provide times cited information.  Below are some examples.  See the  Databases by Subject listings to check and see if a database in your discipline offers times cited information.