English Literature: Modern and Contemporary: Home

This guide has several pages that can help you find research, literary works, and more to help with your study of Modern and Contemporary English Literature.

• Find Research and Criticism - This page guides you to conducting research through finding articles in databases as well as in the library catalog.

• Find Book Reviews - This page provides resources and tips for finding book reviews in databases and other sources.

• Find Primary and Literary Works - Provides tips on locating literary works both online and in the library catalogs as well as links to primary source databases.

• Find Poetry - Provides information on print and electronic sources for poetry.

• Find Short Stories - Provides information on finding short stories in print or online, whether you are browsing or searching for a specific story. 

• Collections and Awards - This page has links to several sites listing the winners of various literary prizes, as well as "Best of" collections.

• Journals - Lists popular journals in the field.

• Reference - Links to several online Reference Collections as well as print guides to reference sources. 

• Biographical Information

• Background Research

• Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Full Library Catalog

Modern and Contemporary studies within the University of Missouri-Columbia's Department of English include literary periods from the English and American turn of the century to contemporary world literature.  This guide includes core and specialized resoruces for studies in this specific field, including American poetry, post-World War II American fiction, African American literature, Native literatures in the U.S., postcolonial literatures in English, film studies, gender and sexuality studies, and more.

Please feel free to submit suggestions for additional resources to add to this page, or email the subject librarian with book requests.